mscandura

How my crappy communication skills cost me $1 in the vending machine…

Posted on: September 24, 2011

Upon arriving in class of Wednesday, I was hungry. I was in a bit of a rush in the morning and didn’t get to eat as much as I would’ve liked to. And I’m one of those people who eats a full breakfast every morning. So when I learned that I had an opportunity to win a bag of peanut buttery, chocolatey goodness, I was an eager beaver to get started.

When the exercise first started, I was texting my group leader things like: “I went to the Kansas page, then I clicked George W. Bush, then that linked to Dallas, TX”. This was pretty loaded… especially considering he was receiving the same texts from 3 other group members. So by about the third time, I had narrowed it down to “Pikachu>Japan>US>Dallas”. Thus making it straight and to the point.

This taught me a lot about communication actually. It taught me not to use such loaded sentences when I’m trying to get my point across to someone. Especially under crunched time.

If I would’ve been more concise from the beginning, maybe we would’ve won the Reeses. But I took a trip to the vending machine after class and got Reeses with my own money. Not ideal, but close enough…

2 Responses to "How my crappy communication skills cost me $1 in the vending machine…"

I completely agree with you blog post. I was doing the same thing! Trying to narrow everything down without saying too little. Texting was so difficult…maybe our group could have tried something else! Next time 🙂

Well at least you got a reeses??

Leave a Reply

